Every Goodbye Ain’t Gone: Trauma & Grief in the Time of COVID-19

Participant Portal

Session Dates

Click on the dates to access the session recordings.

July 24

August 14

August 28

September 11

September 25

October 9

October 30

November 13 

November 27

December 11

Session Times

Please note your time zone

4:00-6:00p Pacific / 5:00-7:00p Mountain / 6:00-8:00p Central / 7:00-9:00p Eastern

The goals of the project are:

  • Support the leaders and ministers of these churches as they move through grief
  • Educate church leaders about the best knowledge and practices concerning trauma, grief and healing
  • Help the churches to create a grief support group for their church and community
  • Conduct basic research through case studies about the grieving process in the African American community

Contribute Comments, Ideas, and Questions to the Group Discussion: 

10 Comments

  1. The church of What’s Happening Now is going to Hush Your Mouth church this Sunday

  2. I apologize to any church that goes by any of those names.

  3. I hope when we say “good-bye” to COVID-19 that it is “GONE”!!!!

  4. Any questions on the group facilitators materials?

  5. Any questions for Rev. Sommerville or Dr. Carter

  6. I look forward to seeing each of you this evening. Since last we convened I had an emergency appendectomy. I am coming along nicely, today.

  7. I look forward to seeing each of you this evening. Since last we convened I had an emergency appendectomy. I am coming along nicely, today. Praise God!!

  8. Thank you Dr. Luke Powery for helping us to see the ministry opportunities found in weeping and mourning.

  9. I’d like to share a poster that I saw the other day which read: “Remember how careful you were back in March and April? START NOW,AGAIN! Seriously!”

  10. Encourage: CLEAN HANDS, MASK WEARING & PHYSICAL DISTANCING!!

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rev. Darrell Armstrong, MDiv, EdS–MFT, DD

Lisa Brown, PhD, ABPP

Rev. Dr. Phyllis E. Carter, MS, LCMFT, MDiv, DMin

Holy Light Missionary Baptist Church

10801 SW 238th Street

Vashon, WA 98070

14 + 3 =

Created by Emily M. Adams | Copyright Foundation for Justice and Peace, all rights reserved